district 3 boundary map

Supervisor Kristin Gaspar is honored to represent a district rich in higher education institutions, thriving technology hubs, and beachside communities that attract visitors from around the world. From surfers to scientists, the district encompasses communities from the coast to the inland valleys where approximately 630,000 call home.

District 3 is home to a variety of unique communities. There are five incorporated cities, including nearly a dozen distinct neighborhoods within the City of San Diego. The southwest boundary includes Sorrento Valley and Torrey Pines Mesa where there are thriving hubs of pharmaceutical and bio-tech companies that are pioneering and revolutionizing DNA and stem cell research. Also nestled in this district is Qualcomm, Inc., a Fortune 500 company and the region's largest private sector employer. The coastal portion of District 3 includes the cities of Del Mar, Solana Beach and Encinitas. These cities receive services from the County of San Diego that include health, libraries and law enforcement. The northeast corner of District 3 includes Escondido and San Pasqual Valley, communities with rich agricultural roots. There are two more Fortune 500 companies in this district, Sony and Northrup Grumman, both of which employ thousands of local residents. To the south, District 3 includes the bedroom communities of Carmel Mountain Ranch, Scripps Ranch, Tierrasanta, Sabre Springs and Mira Mesa. Supervisor Gaspar is also proud to represent those serving our country at Marine Corps Air Station Miramar.